Author Topic: Applying decals  (Read 2869 times)

David Bogard

Applying decals
« on: October 31, 2018, 02:50:10 PM »
I did something unusual for me last night, I tore a decal and it was not repairable so I will be getting another entire set. That made me think about getting a decal application thread started to see what everyone's best practices are. I have mine and they work pretty well but I got a little too anxious last night and it cost me! So what are your decal application techniques?
I appreciate people that actually build and post models.
https://public.fotki.com/DKBogard/

Brian Conn

• Banned for the greater good
    • Alumilite Molding & Casting
Re: Applying decals
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2018, 04:58:08 PM »
  At what part of the application process did you tear the decal?

I'm still relatively new to decals compared to some, so its still a learning process.  Here's what I have done with success so far with applying decals.  I shoot a clear coat on the body before applying any decals.

1)  Use the proper tools to apply decals...makes a huge difference...
  1a. Decal scissors...I currently don't own a set, but I did abscond some scissors that look like something a surgeon would use...they do cut close to the actual decal and CLEAN , no jagged edges.

1b. Decal tweezers...I got mine from Micro Mark...yes, they are designed different than any other tweezers.

1c. Decal blotter...blots excess water from the decal....available from Micro Mark...a must when using setting solutions.

1d. Setting solutions...I am currently using Microscale Micro Set and Micro Sol.  The model rail roaders swear by Walthers Solvaset, there are some other decal solvents out there as well.