Author Topic: Monza dirt car.  (Read 2288 times)

Tom Birky

• Administrator
Monza dirt car.
« on: September 01, 2021, 01:17:08 PM »
Got paint on my current project so I couldn't help playing around with my next idea. I've wanted to do this particular car for awhile, but couldn't figure out the body and didn't want to scratch build the entire thing. I was at a show a couple of weeks ago and saw a built Vega funny car. I started studying the body and ended up bringing the kit home. I sort of could see the beginning of a Monza towne coupe in that Vega wagon. I did a little mock up with a file card and I believe the rear sheet metal will be easy with sheet plastic.  Here's my humble start. Thx for looking.  Tb

David Bogard

Re: Monza dirt car.
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2021, 04:50:02 PM »
That Sanger car has crossed my mind a time or two in the past also Tom. It was a dog but it was different looking. Since a Vega and a Monza were the same car for several years on a few of their models (especially front end and side panels), I was gong to go with a Vega notchback from Bandit Resins and simply build in the rear sail panel windows.

I appreciate people that actually build and post models.
https://public.fotki.com/DKBogard/

Brian Conn

• Banned for the greater good
    • Alumilite Molding & Casting
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2021, 09:00:08 PM »
  Looks like your off to a fine start with this one....will definitely be a one of a kind.
   So how did this Smaller Monza Towne Coupe compare to the Camaro or Olds Cutlass Salon that he ran from that same time?  He brought the Olds Cutlass Salon #97 to the big Fall race here in Topeka back in 1979 and I am positive he showed up here after that race with a Camaro in 1980.  Any particulars about the Monza that you recall?  suspension...chassis...  that kind of stuff     
   Looking forward to seeing what you are able to do with this one.
The only heroes in Washington are buried just outside of it in Arlington

john2