Author Topic: Paint  (Read 8880 times)

David Bogard

Paint
« on: August 10, 2018, 02:39:40 PM »
jchrisf wrote -
I'm a newb so I don't know how to fix your problem but I used the Testor's Metallic silver in the tiny bottle on a camero I build and it looked great... but, that paint never dried and I ended up messing it up too.  I am going to respray the same paint on that body again soon and then set aside for about 6 months to cure, but I am not ever using enamel on anything else after that.

This brings up an interesting subject. Maybe explain more your process because something's "off" here. It shouldn't take "6 months to cure".
« Last Edit: August 10, 2018, 02:41:18 PM by David Bogard »
I appreciate people that actually build and post models.
https://public.fotki.com/DKBogard/

Brian Conn

• Banned for the greater good
    • Alumilite Molding & Casting
Re: Paint
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2018, 11:37:14 PM »
....One thing that is common with either Styrene plastic or resin is that both are petroleum based which means that with the porous surface of a body, the paint is trying to seep into the body as oils are trying to escape (come to the surface)....once a styrene plastic body is totally void of any and all petroleum based products, it starts to become brittle.  Resin, by nature, will have a higher percent of oils, hence the first thing you do before anything else is soak it to remove enough petroleum byproducts to make it paintable.